Louie the Cat

A few years ago, my dad and my brother and I finally convinced my mom to get a cat. My dad grew up with cats and my mom even had one when she was a kid, but she wouldn’t let us get one for the longest time. We all drove to the OC Animal Shelter and they showed us the kitten we had seen online. She was a skinny, black and white cat with golden-colored eyes. I suggested the name Lulu earlier while we were waiting outside, and that’s what we chose. We made a quick stop at the local PetSmart to pick up things like food and toys and other things the cat would need. For the first week or so, we kept her in our downstairs bathroom with all of his stuff because our house is pretty big and unfamiliar for the cat to roam around in by herself. She eventually became very comfortable in our home and always slept upstairs on her bed or one of our beds. Everything was great and we were all so happy with our new kitten. But about three months later when Lulu had grown much bigger from the kitten she used to be, my dad discovered that Lulu was actually a male cat. You see, when we first got him from the shelter, he was sick with a kennel cold. This postponed his surgery to get neutered, so they hadn’t been able to tell that she was actually a he. I was pretty upset about it, not because I didn’t love the cat, but because I had already made him a bunch of pink things and I really liked the name Lulu. I had insisted on getting a girl cat in the first place, and this messed up my entire plan. We ended up changing his name to Louie, which looking back on it, it was kind of a happy accident because the name is Louie super adorable and he honestly has the perfect personality for a boy cat. I have had him for three years now, and he is still like my best friend and sleeps up on bed every night (he loves this one blanket I have). He is very adorable and I always look forward to seeing him first thing when I get home from school everyday.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *